Great Books Lead To Great Music

Since I’ve been working at Ridgian in central Birmingham, I’ve got into listening to podcasts especially as I have a half-hour walk to the station each morning followed by a 40 minute train journey followed by another 15 minutes walk to the office.  In an effort not to be a total geek I have tried to intersperse technical podcasts with purely entertaining ones (and if you like a bit of both I must recommend NxtGenUG’s cast as both Dave and Rich are complete nutters :)).

My favourite entertainment podcasts are by:

Scott Sigler who is a lunatic (and I mean that in a nice sense) Science Fiction author who podcasts all his own books including Earthcore, Ancestor, Infection and Rookie and I can recommend everyone single one of them, they are brilliant.  Let’s face it anyone who can introduce each episode with "This podcast contains bad language, adult situations and obscene amounts of violence. So lock your kids in the closet, crank up the volume and if you’re easily offended turn it off now pussy!" has got to be worth a listen.

J C Hutchins is another genius Science Fiction writer and author of the superb 7th Son Trilogy, I’m going to be so gutted when I get to the last episode of the 3rd book.

Stephen Eley is the driving force behind the wonderful Escapepod which is a weekly Science Fiction short story podcast. Unlike Scott and JC, Stephen doesn’t write his own work instead he pays the authors for the right to broadcast their stories and there have been some truly excellent ones.

So what about the great music then? Well each of the above use intro/outro music from the following superb bands:

Scott uses music by Lacuna Coil
JC uses music by Celldweller
Stephen uses music by Daikaiju

And if you don’t do yourself a favour and go and listen and enjoy an aural treat instead of listening to the same old same old then you must be a saddo indeed.

I’m off to see Rush at the NEC on Friday and can’t wait, Rush are the band that God would create if he was in to great music.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Great Books Lead To Great Music

  1. Scott Sigl says:

    I am NOT CRAZY! NO! However, I bet your ears are tasty – can you leave them to me in your will should you, oh, I don\’t know, get hit by a zamboni?

Leave a comment